Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Relaxing to smooth out your riding (revised from slowing)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by JP, Dec 20, 2008.

1. This is my second go at trying to get what I was thinking into words, hopefully I do a better job this time :)
    So first a bit of background information. I've been riding for 7-8 months now and I try to ride at least twice a week. Anything less and I feel like I'm not making any progress in terms of my riding abilities and skills. My favourite places to ride are the National Park and Macquarie Pass, however I ride the Pass more as the road is smoother and there is larger variation of corners (plus a Pie when I make it to the top :LOL:). My riding has definitely improved in the last couple of months, riding with the more experienced guys on the 4 Musketeers trip, following their lines and watching their body positioning played a big role in my riding development.
    Lately I've found myself trying to go a bit faster through the corners. Not in a dangerous way, just trying to get an idea where the limits of my current skills are. For some reason I had it stuck in my head that the faster I go through the corners, the better I'm getting. Not true. What I actually found is the faster I was going through the corners, the messier my lines were, which I think was caused by being tense and a lack of experience. Yesterday I went out for a ride, and headed in the direction of the Macquarie Pass. It was a really nice day, the weather was just right, so before I made it to the bottom of the Pass, I decided I'd just take it easy and just enjoy being on a bike. I think being in this relaxed state of mind instead of an "attack" mentality I usually ride the Pass with is what made the most difference.