Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW Rego Tubes

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by SteveD, Nov 17, 2008.

1. Hi all, I am new to netrider and new to riding .Recently went to superbikes at the Creek and was told by the police that the rego tube on my bike was illegal is this true?

2. Maybe you had it mounted incorrectly, some states insist it be on the left hand side rear etc.
  3. For Victoria it's officially not allowed. The rego has to be clearly displayed on the LHS of the bike.

In practice if it's clearly visible you are usually OK. The situations where they book people are either where it's on the rear - but attached in such a way it's possible to swing it up to obscure the rear number plate, or if someone just wants to be a total pr1ck. :roll:
  4. I think that the cops are probably right on this one... but like f*ckwits driving with the F*ckin foglights on would never do anything about it...

The idea is that the cops should be able to read the rego label, not just that you have it there... that said, I think you would be pretty safe until you get stopped for speeding, and then they might hit you with the fine for that while they have the pad out...

Use vehicle with obscured/defaced/illegible label - $81

Much like my argument about non-AS-approved helmets... has anyone ever actually been fined for this??? Unlike non-AS-approved helmets, I am sure this wouldn't be a reason for your insurance company to weasel out of a claim...

5. I had this same discussion with the local Plod up here in Cairns a couple of weeks ago, Pulled over for RBT and License check (everyone, not just me) cop wanders around bike, Plod advises my rego tube is not legal and he can give me a fine.