Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Red Mist: When to pull your head in.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Viator, Jul 29, 2011.

1. Hi guys

I've been riding for a few years now and my body position is pretty good but every now and then I don't "pull my head in" when I should.

Last night I let myself get a bit hot headed when some old guy gunned it past me in my lane when I was taking off from the lights. Like a light switch, the cave man in me awakened and took control of my wrist to show the guy I was on a big sportsbike too. There was no way someone with a Givi top box was going to beat me! In the dark and traffic filled conditions, he tried to get away from me by applying generous throttle and some lane splitting at speed. I kept up with his 130 odd in the 80 zone for 10kms or so before he turned left but by that time the cave man had conquered and common sense had left the building.

As my competition turned left, the lights ahead of me went amber. Without thinking I opened the throttle right up. As Murphy’s law would have it, at that same moment I stopped thinking, a car ahead pulled out at one of those ‘turn left with care’ signs and into my lane. At this point I was probably doing 100kmph more than the car. My immediate thought was “here comes my first crash” but my riding experience kicked in and saved me. My instincts took hold of the brakes and then released with enough just time to arc a high speed swerve around the car in front before accelerating off into the distance.