Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Recommended course for getting into adventure riding (Brisbane region)

Discussion in 'Adventure/Enduro' at netrider.net.au started by PAK, Nov 10, 2010.

1. Hi,

Just wondering if anyone has feedback or suggestions on a good training provider for getting into adventure riding. Am just looking for somewhere to do a day or two riding training on the techniques etc to get into adventure riding (specifically dirt and offroad skills). I've clocked up three years of daily commuting (80km) and a few longer road rides (eg Bris-Syd) and am on a DL650A. I've also had a few years in 4x4 and quadbike experience.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Regards,

2. Look for someone offering a trials rider course. i think stayupright did one.

Otherwise, go out and fall off on the dirt until you learn how not to...

3. We did our own crash course...we found that a very effective way to learn. The bikes were fitted with crashbars first, then off we went! Sorry, can't help with a course...

4. buy a tour-enduro offroader (XR650R) .. and start riding it offroad!

Wear the correct gear of course, get used to the bike and get used to offroad. Also get used to the extra punishment your body will absorb.

You'll get used to it.. just start doing it and you'll learn, there are some stickies in the offroad section of this forum that would help ya too.

But get a friend and start doing it. Its what I did. I haven't been injured yet, have had an absolute blast!

5. Yup,or a budget priced DR650...

6. Yeah, I've been thinking about adventure/dirt training courses too, to enable a transition to a more adventure-touring oriented vehicle.