Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Recommendations for first bike upgrade

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Pasty, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Hi All!

Wondering if I can pick your brains for a moment. Currently I am riding a Honda Shadow TA200. Will be off my restrictions in March next year, and am already thinking of my next bike, as the Shadow is somewhat lacking in power, and is quite small for me to ride.

I am wanting to get something that my wife will be comfortable sitting on the back of, easy to manuveure, easy on the petrol, comfortable to ride, etc. Soo maybe a sport tourer or something?

Since I am new to bike riding, would people suggest going from a 200cc to something like a 600 or 750?

Kinda like the Blackbirds, but would be a little too much power too soon I think...

Any ideas??

Thanks a lot!!
  2. Well, there's a big, big marketplace out there with lots of models that would fit. The VFR800 Honda has a very strong following around these boards and is at the sporty end of the ST spectrum. Likewise Suzuki's 650 VStrom is very popular and is much more cruisy. Try making a list of features you really want and are not negotiable and those that you would kind of like and see what fits. In my case I wanted a mid size sport tourer for the daily commute in all weathers and some touring so I wanted.
    1. Shaft or belt drive (I'm sick of chain maintenance.)
    2. Anti lock brakes.
    3. Comfortable with not too much weight on the wrists.
    4. Comprehensive and professional dealer service backup.
    5. Long service intervals.
    6. Luggage that works - preferably factory.
    7. A centrestand (look, I just want one).
    8. Sub $20K on the road.
    I bought the BMW F800ST and have been very happy with it.