Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Rebuilding the 250RR

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by scotts RR, Sep 21, 2008.

1. Ok, been a member for a while now, but am in need of direction.
    So my cbr250rr is on her last legs i feel. Its up around the 90 000km mark, and before i got it, had a poor life. It stills pulls as hard for a 250, and keeps up with all the others but i'd love to give her a breath of fresh air.

So im after ball park figures and experiences with this.
    I'm not a mechanic, but i am mechanically minded, do alot of the work on my car myself and am handy with a few tools.

Im thinking if its gunna cost less than 2k in parts including a sports clutch (brand/type?) ill give it a go.
    Now with cars, when you rebuild, you generally go from like a 2ltr, to a 2.2. Does the same go with the bike? 250cc to like a 275cc?

Any imput would be much appreciated.
    Scott

2. Ok I assume you're talking about reconditioning the engine.

Firstly a sports clutch for a bike is usually a dry clutch conversion and that I'm guessing is going to be about $5K.

For street work a standard clutch is fine.

Secondly for a full engine rebuild you are going to be looking at much more than $2K. Probably closer to $3-5K.

big bore kits are available for many bikes but for the 250/4s you might have to have a good working knowledge of the Japanese aftermarket industry to find one.

If you can find them add $$ for that.

If your budget is $2K then check the compression and if it's in the ballpark then just do the head and give the carbies a good once over.

That should give you everything back. Any money spent after that should be spent on suspension, bushes, bearings and tyres for the best performance/$