Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Rear tire squirm when accelerating hard through corners

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Ballsy Mgee, May 28, 2012.

1. I'm still very much a beginner and wish to pick the brains of some more experienced riders.

Sometimes when accelerating hard(ish) through a corner the rear wheel squirms side to side a bit. I ride a cb400 with the suspension preloads set to normal, i'm 77kg. I check the tyre pressures often. Tyres are Dunlop sportmax II.

Is this normal for a standard sort of bike? Is it down the quality of tyres? Am I doing something wrong or can something be adjusted to minimize this? It's not noticeable when cruising and when it does occur its manageable because I don't push it super hard, but as a novice i'd like to learn as much as I can.
  2. Suckish tyres (note the 'y' in my correct spelling) - had them and buggered them off. Strongly dislike them. Got the bridgestone BT023 which is far superior.
  3. happens turning both ways?
    how smoothly do you roll on?
  4. You should stick too giving spelling advice--why ?
    You're better at it.
    You ride a 400.
    You arn't qualified for much else.

STOP IT.
  5. Good to see you are back, Blabber.

I see you have vague hacks at being a troll. But then again, you are a hack yourself. You must be one of those old fogies, new to the internet. Must be time for the Ulysses -wait last I heard, you are already there - 'road captain' or something like that.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Incorrect grammar, 'which are far superior'

Yeah I have heard the Dunlops are pretty crap. But they've still got 5,000 km in them so I'll wait a bit before upgrading.
  7. Touché.