Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Reading books/material

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Charlzee, Dec 30, 2006.

1. Hi all, I have been commuting to work for about 2 months and im finding that on some turns I dont think I am doing all that well on.

Well I was just wondering if anyone has any good books they can recommend for turning/cornering basic tips. So then once I read up on it I can go try it out. Ive read something about apex and lines on the forums, but it just dont make sense to me.
  2. twist of the wrist 2
  3. Cornering is something you will master in your own time. Your apex is the centre point of your cornering, or the furthest point you take whilst cornering. So getting this right will depend on your set up for the corner. Thus will then determine your exit point. And your line will then have alot to do with where you are looking or if you get any target fixation.
  4. Books give you ideas but practice is where you learn. Spend the money on fuel and find a quiet area with some roundabouts - industrial estate at night or new housing estate. Even in an open carpark, select some parking space markers as imaginary corners - you can mark them with some tennis balls cut in half.

Concentrate on getting the bike settled before the turn ie. correct speed, gear and lane position. Then remember to look through the turn. It will come with time and you will be pegscraping every second roundabout. Took me about 6 months to get really comfortable.
  5. The best thing would be to go do a HART intermediate course, that'll get your confidence right up.

Books are one thing, a solid day's instructed practice is entirely another.