Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Radically restyled R15 released

Discussion in 'Motorcycling News' started by NetriderBot, Dec 18, 2012.

1. YMA is pleased to announce the release of a new model YZF-R15 sports commuter model. The 2013 YZF-R15 - also known as the Version 2.0 - is based on the current model but has undergone an extensive revamp. The liquid cooled, fuel injected four-stroke h...

and more ยป
  2. Warranty only 12 months. Bit odd for a new Yammie Innit?
  3. i dont think the bot will answere you lol
  4. Bit like talking to the wife!
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Hi

I'm new to the bike world, I'm not too sure what all the revisions in the new model mean. This bikes seems to be quickly dismissed by the the more experienced riders, which had me reconsider this as my first bike, do the improvements give me any reason to change my mind?

6. What in particular attracts you to the R15? They're based off a scooter design and aren't really anything more than 'scooters with fairings'. I think the consensus here will be that something such as a VTR250 will be much better.
  7. You really want something with around 20~30hp to use as a 'motorcycle'. Anything less is simply a point-a-point-b machine... sure you can have some fun on them but really to learn well you need a bit more power to help you along.

Anything under 250cc will also probably not be able to cruise at freeway speeds and will be very sluggish with anything other than a 40kg rider aboard.

I just bought a CBR125R for the sole purpose of city commuting - its cheap to run, rego and maintain and cost $850 with rego because it'd been in an accident and had no fairings (ie kinda ugly). For freeway trips I still take my VTR1000F.