Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

r6 transmission is goooone!! noo!!!!

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by fastkid, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Hey guys just wondering if anyone has ever replaced an r6 2001 model tranny before and if so is it hard for the novice (no im no mechanic) or if they know someone that can offer the service for a low price as im kinda tight with cash at the moment with going back to uni

2. What are the symptoms of the problem?

3. Depends what's wrong with it, it could be something easy to fix on the outside like the shift lever mechanism, or it could be internal like teeth/dogs/forks. If it's inside the cases it's about the most complicated job in motorcycling, the engine will have to come out and be disassembled, that's well over a grand, maybe a couple. Sorry, dude :cry: You really need to find out what exactly is wrong with it.
  4. shift dogs are all eaten, fork selectas bent trust me I know i need a new tranny.. The thing wont even reverse in neutral!

apparently its a slid out gearbox so no I dont have to take out the motor this is why im contemplating it doing it myself, but i need the mechanic manual not sure where I can find it.
  5. Just guessing here -but I suspect it may be jumping out of gear due to the dogs worn on second gear. Hard shifts from first to second the culprit. If the gear dogs are not too badly worn it MAY be possible to get a reputable company to undercut the affectected gears/dogs. First thing to do would be to get yourself the appropriate manual for your bike. Otherwise you're just flying blind.