Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Questions about leathers?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by nodz, May 5, 2005.

1. As a newb I have some questions about leathers.

What sort of price do leathers go for?
    What's a resonable brand, that's middle of the road, not the cheapest and certainly not the most expensive?
    Is it better to go for a one piece suit or a jacket and pants that zip up around the waist?
    What are the advantages of a suit versus pants/jacket (besides the obvious of being able to get on/take off easier)?
    Is there a price difference between one piece and pants/jacket?
    Is wet weather gear required over the top?
    If it is, is it just ordinary wet weather gear?
    How do you care for the leathers? Is washing, hosing down required at some point?
  2. Hey Nodz - try looking at "R-Jays" leathers. they're probably the best of the cheapest if you know what I mean.

One peice will stay together better when (if) you slide down the road. Zips apparently bust open.... But it's better than shorts and a t-shirt! But a one peice is a little less practical at times.

I imagine that one peice is more expensive simply because I don't think the cheaper brands do one peice.... But most cheaper brands do matching jacket/pants.

You don't really have to do TOO much to care for them.... Cows are waterproof, so you don't need to wear wets over the top, but treating your leather gear with Snoseal or Nikwax will stop water absorbing into the leather, which in turn can make it crack when it dries.(don't use dubbin - it has chemicals that attack cotton stitching. Great for horse saddles!) Wipe off any mud...and that's really about it!!