Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

question about commuting to work on the bike.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by zears, Nov 10, 2009.

1. Ok so ive had my licence for about 2 months now and have had a bike for about 1 month so im still very new to it all, but i was wondering...

if i use the bike to go to work and back every day its going to wear the tyres in the middle a lot more than the edges as there oviously isnt a lot of heavy cornering on the commute. so will this give bad handeling later when i do go for a fun ride through the black spur or some other twisty road?

Also if it does wear that way (sort of flat across the middle) is it possible to get a tyre that has a harder compound in the middle for commuting and softer on the edges for cornering on weekends so that the tyre wears at a similar rate?

i mean i understand softer usally equates to better grip but faster wear so i figured if your commuting all week and wearing just the middle and then cornering on the weekends on some fun rides you need the grip for the corners but not so much for the straight commute.

anyway if this should have been in maitenence im sorry but any info would be good thanks.

2. Yes they will wear more in the middle.

Some tyres come in dual compound. My personal experience with these hasn't been good. The Dunlops I had a couple of years ago were terrible tyres, but they are no longer available.