Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

QLD Summer Riders? What jackets to use?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by emilmh, Feb 12, 2006.

1. Hey,
    Im new to riding (yet to get my licence) but im looking at gear and from the info i can find, alot seems to be from people in the south with colder weather. Im in QLD (Brisbane) and for my first jacket i want to have one that covers both summer and winter.
    I assume this leave me with the textile option as leather would be way to hot. But im wondering if anyone can give me some specific advice as to what are some good jackets are that are usable in 30 - 40 degree heat we experiance in the QLD summer! (i obviously want some protection, so please dont suggest a tshirt, vest, singlet ect...)

My idea is that i can easily wear extra clothing underneath for winter but its a bit hard to make a jacket cooler (except for removing the optional inner linning should it have one).

Thanks,
    Emil

2. oh, by the way. Most of my riding will be commuting....

3. My dririder climate control jacket serves me well in the summer and winter. I use it for all the riding I do!

4. I am using a MotoDry Summer without the liner (dunno where THAT is) and its pretty good for air flow. Gets a bit hot when stopped at lights.
    I often rider around with it only zipped up < half way and that quite nice.
    Its not very water proof though! I have a Rivets for cold/wet weather but that one gets a bit whiffy in the hot weather. I got both of the jackets either on sale (last years model) or at the local trash 'n' treasure. Motodry was $50 (Bargain).
    Hope this helps