Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Q-ride questions.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by learner_1990, May 20, 2008.

1. hey guys, im new to the bike scene. I will be going for my RE learners in July, and i am pretty confident i will pass.

I will most likely be going to Pro Ride at Rocklea for my Q-ride. I was just wandering, roughly how many sessions will I need, for someone with no bike experience at all? I just want a roughly estimate so i can save up for it.

Another question i have is, i have been reading the Queensland Transport website, and it states that i have to have my RE learners for atleast 6 months before i can get my RE provisional licence. Does that mean i should only do my Q-ride course after 6months of holding my RE learners?

thanks,
    abraham

2. I did QRide at Pro and it was great. I cannot say enough good things about the trainers... awesome.

Have you held an open licence for 3 years? If so the 6 months does not apply and you can get your learners and go straight and do Q ride.

I had no riding experience for 15 years and even back then it was limited to small dirt bikes and clapped out ag bikes so I was in a similar position to yourself.

I booked in for 2 days and rode a 250cc on day one. I felt like a gumby and was out of my league to begin with, later that afternoon did the road ride with the 600cc guys...... awesome. I did day 2 on the 600cc and got my opens.

Patience is the key, listen and learn the trainers will go as slow as they can with you but they have to accomodate all riders of all levels.

It costs $270 per day weekdays and $290 per day weekends.

3. Rules change on July 1 - so if you've got any chance of getting into Q-ride before then jump at it! (I'm going this Sunday)