Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

pulsing gearbox

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by dah dah, May 17, 2005.

1. Hi all,
    I have been riding my YZF600r Thundercat for a couple of months now and have noticed something that has got me curious.

It could be the colder mornings, but I have been noticing that (after warming the bike until choke off) there is a pulsating feeling in the gear box. When I coast with the clutch in and engine at idle speed I can feel it most. After it is fully warm, it is hardly noticable. I have changed the oil and that has seemed to help a bit.

Is this normal, am I paranoid?

Cheers

2. It's alive!

I don't imagine it's the gearbox. More likely the plugs are fouling a little on choke, then cleaning themselves up after running wihout choke.

3. I like that idea, I didnt think it was too serious

4. Or maybe one of your brake discs is a bit warped? That might give you a similar sensation, and it can be easier to spot when you're coasting.

Just trying to be lateral! :)

5. Dont think it is a disk, as I cant feel it through the brake lever, and it goes away after it gets properly warm.

Does a chain change much when it warms?

Any thundercat owners experience the same?

6. The reason I thought about a disk was because I've a similar problem with my car.

When I had new brake pads put in, the dealer told me the front disks were a little grooved and asked if I had experienced any vibrations when braking.

I told them I hadn't, and on that basis they said they wouldn't machine the disks as I wasn't experiencing any problems.