Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Protective gear "What to Buy"

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by Craig20, Jul 14, 2009.

1. Just got my L's and am about to by all my gear from top to bottom. What brands should I look out for, whats the best whats the worst , and what other tips can you give me. :grin:

Cheers. :grin:

2. In before you get raped....you are gonna get told to use the search button :p

3. have a look through the riding gear and accesories forum :)

4. This thread should maybe go in the new riders section.

I'm just starting out to, this is what I've learned so far. (anyone with more experience feel free to correct me.)

Firstly, gear is probably a bit more expensive than you might think. I'm about to spend $1,500 on gear, you could get away with $1000 but you might find yourself wanting to spend a lot more.

Make sure everything you buy fits you snugly. There's no point in wearing good gear that will come off in a slide, or leave skin exposed.

I'd highly recommend motorcycling boots with ankle/shin protection. I work at a hospital, I've seen so many ankle injuries for motorcycle accidents. My brother in law stuffed his ankle after falling over at less than 10km.

I went ahead and bought a leather jacket with armour in the shoulders and elbows. Leather looks like it'll offer better protection, but if you're commuting then textiles may be more comfortable.

That's all I can think of for now. When I bought my gear I followed the mantra: dress for the slide, not for the ride.

5. Helmet
    Jacket
    Gloves
    Hatchet
    Pants
    Boots
    Spurs
    Six Shooter
    Chaps
    and a kettle.

6. go the Auburn special,
    addidas tracksuit pants,
    addidas bumbag, (over your shoulder)