Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Protective gear - Pants and gloves for learner rider

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Julien, Jan 19, 2009.

1. Hi guys

I am new to the motorcycle world (just got my Ls) and would really appreciate some guidance from more experienced riders.

Safety is really important for me and I am looking at buying some gloves and some pants for riding my Suzuki GS500.

Has anyone got some suggestions as to which gear I should be looking at please?

2. IMHO you get the best stuff you can afford. If you're just commuting then as above Draggin jeans (usually around $200) and some decent gloves, personally i'm a fan of hand protection as its my livelihood so i went with Alpinestar GP Pro gloves but again it depends on your budget and requirements. If you're going to be riding rain/ hail or shine its worth having a good pair of winter gloves (ie wind and waterproof) as well because riding in freezing conditions with soaked gloves and not being able to feel your hands isn't fun!
  3. and whatever you get, make sure its comfortable. sit on some bikes in the store if you are looking at draggins or hornee.

theres no point buying some pants when you cant bend your legs properly or get a good grip on the tank
  4. I recommend going to MAW in Castle Hill and having a chat with them.
    (if that trip is feasible for you).

Unless they're really busy you're sure to find a staff member who will spend time showing you stuff and explaining and answering questions.

They automatically knock 10% off the ticket for learners and the ticket prices are ok to start.
  5. Thanks for that guys. Would you recommend that I get any knee protections?