Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Protective clothing research

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Teal, Sep 23, 2011.

1. #1 Teal, Sep 23, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2015
    Hi my name is Liz.

I’m a motorcycle researcher. I wrote the Good Gear Guide and I also ran the Gear study, in which we interviewed 212 riders after they crashed, to see how well their gear protected them.

It has been great visiting this forum to find that a lot of riders think this has been useful work. This is a link to the results of the Gear Study, although I note there is also a link on this site.

See [media=youtube]NlovDQM0TnA[/media] .

As you know, most of the gear worked really well, but over a quarter of the motorcycle jackets, pants and gloves failed in crashes. So now we are looking at ways of getting reliable information to riders about which products will do the job.

I am logging in here to ask what sort of information would help you to decide which motorcycle protective clothing to buy. What are the issues for you in buying and wearing protective gear? How much of an issue is hot weather?

We are going to run a national survey of riders, but I wanted to get some feedback from rider discussion forums first. To make sure we are on the right track.

Cheers

Liz

2. I don't know if it applies in this particular instance, but you might wanna wing a message to 'Mouth' or one of the mods just to let them know what you're up to. Might just be vendor sales and whatnot, but can't hurt. Now for your questions