Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Problems with gear change

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by d_n2blue, Jun 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Hi Everyone,

I've been riding for about 4 months now and loving it! When I first started I was very slow to take off from a standstill but I am getting better. Now I can take off easily but the problem I face is when I try to take off a little faster I almost always stuff up the gear change to second and either hit neutral or miss the lever all together, quite embarrassing.

This was baffling me until I recently realised what was happening, the foot peg was folding under the pressure of my foot! I tend to lean over the front a bit when taking off and I guess that also changes the angle of my foot on the peg. I had a closer look at the foot peg and it looks like it can only hinge upwards so I'm quite surprised this is happening.

Has anyone had something like this happen to them? Any suggestions to try to stop this from happening?

Thanks!

2. Perhaps the gear lever is incorrectly positioned (too low?) and that's why your foot is folding up the footpeg when trying to change up?

3. I ride a cb400 and a vtr1000. The cb400 is a little more forgiving with the gear changes particularly in the city as there isn't a million nm's of torque trying to rip the splines off of your second gear at low revs, and I didn't hit as many accidental neutrals on that as I did on the firestorm. A quick adjustment of the firestorm gear pedal made it sit a little lower so I no longer have to kick my toe up so high to knock it in to gear.

Have you adjusted, or do you know how to adjust the gear pedal so it's in a safe, comfortable and useable position for you?

• Like Like x 1