Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Problems with bikes and everyday things

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by emilmh, Mar 1, 2006.

1. Hey,
    I was wondering if you could help me with part of a uni assignment. Im studying Industrial Design which in a degrading term is "product design". (this ranges from designing motorbikes, cars, electronic gagets to almost all household applicances/products ect, but covers much more than just aesthetic design)
    Anyway what i need to do is identify a problem area, that can be solved or helped by the use of a new product. At this moment im only really looking for problems as i will be looking at solutions later down the track.

Some ideas are things that take a long time (design a product to shorten the time), or are labour intensive (design a product to lessen the labour) or are a hassle/complicated (design a product to simplify the task).

I was hoping to do something related to motorbikes or cars as they are two of my biggest interests, but am having trouble finding a feasible issue that can be solved with something new....

any ideas are appreicated
  2. Riding in the rain?? What about coming up with an idea for a helmet mounted visor wiper??

Bike Security?? Zone alarm for motorbikes?
  3. ahh visor wiper is a good idea (i havent experienced riding in the rain yet :oops: so not to sure wht its like!?! ) it would be a fun challenge though to try and come up with one that works

regarding the 'zone alarm' , i have considered bike security, but there already seems to be a whole heap of bike locks. Im not sure what you mean by zone alarm? do you mean like a motion sensor that detects if a person is in your bike "zone" then triggers an alarm?

thanks for your help/ideas