Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

premium petrol - dirty carby and black plugs

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ben80, May 30, 2011.

1. Hi,

I know there has been some debate as to using premium petrol on here, but I was wondering if anyone has had any specific issues such a carbonation on plugs and blocked up carby as a direct result of using premium?

I am very new to riding and bought a duc monster 400 as part of the lams scheme and couldnt get it started late last week. on my ride to work it needed more choke than normal, then after about a 20 minute highway run it stalled on some quieter streets after coming to a full stop. that night it wouldnt start at all. After having eventually getting to a mechanic the guys were saying that it was most likely caused from running premium.
    Just wondering if anyone had similar experience with their bikes?

2. Sounds like your using Shell petrol, well known for fouling plugs..
  3. I have had problems with fouling of my Tuono as I only put Premium in it.

What I was told by the Aprilia mechanic, and is quite often up for debate, is that as age premium fuels burn at a higher temperature, running around town does not burn the fuel properly and I should only use the top premium when doing longer riding.

I think it is bullsh1t and I have a lemon.
  4. My SR500 will foul on premium, whereas the Hornet 600 would ping on 91 when under harder acceleration. From what I've read: use the lowest grade you can, so as to avoid carbonation, but if it pings go to the next higher one.