Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pre-Purchase mechanic chek

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Peppy, Nov 29, 2012.

1. Hey all,

I'm looking to grab a LAMS bike, through a private sale. I've decided on an 08-12 model Ninja 250.

My riding experience is probably around the 4000 - 5000 km mark on a baby fireblade, and while I've learned a few things, I'm by no means an expert, so I'm hoping to get some opinions around here.

I inspected an '09 model with < 6000 km today and I'm keen on it, and I'm trying to decide whether or not to get a mechanic (or experienced forum member) to have a look at it (bike is in Eastern Suburbs, VIC). The bike had apparently been sitting for a year, but still started and idled no problem.

I noticed the following:
    + Rear brake light doesn't increase brightness when front brake was applied.
    + Front brake had more play in the lever than i was used to, but still stopped OK
    + Chain has some surface rust, and I could lift it maybe 2-3mm when pulling from the rear-most part of the sprocket
    + Chain had surface rust on the pins that join both sides of the chain (the bits you'd grab if it was a ladder)

I tried to keep a level head and check everything that I could think of, though I could feel myself getting a little excited so I may have missed some things.

I remember I checked the following bits and bobs:
    + I couldn't hear any unusual engine related noises
    + Blipping the throttle once in neutral saw it return to idle reasonably quickly (after ~2 minute warmup and after a quick test ride)
    + Gears were nice and easy to cycle through (went through them once or twice). Neutral was easy to find.
    + I couldn't see any sign of the forks leaking or weeping