Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pre-Learners questions, and other things!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Boos, Sep 21, 2011.

1. Okey dokey!

I'm about to book my Pre-Learners, but am feeling slightly apprehensive about going through with it. I think its primarily to do with my lack of knowledge or experience. I can ride a push bike, and that's about it 8-[.

That said I'm gonna be trying to book it at HART St Ives - is this a recommended place? I've been told that the course caters to absolute beginners; would my lack of knowledge for manual transmission and gear changing hold me back? At the moment I'm just scared of getting an instant fail and having my money go down the drain. I'm assuming that falling over or stalling is an instant fail, are there any other criteria that I should be aware of? Or any other general rookie tips?

On the topic of beginners, my family is being quite unsupportive about letting me get a bike if I successfully get my Learners. I've seen the other threads about this, but I don't really know how to explain my situation. ](*,) I've told them that I want the responsibility of owning and maintaining an asset like a bike, and that at the moment it's more economical for me to commute to work/uni etc on a bike...but nothings registering except for the inherent dangers associated to riding. Dunno what I can do or say at the moment.
  2. Use HART!!!
    Read and talk to alot of riders, turn up at sat morn prac, ask, ask and ask alot
    All families dont want you to ride, only cause you'll die riding a bike!!
    once you start riding, nobody will wipe the smile off your face!! :) thats why we ride :)
    each to their own, it MIGHT not be for you, but how will you know?