Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pre L newbie with lots of questions...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by fozzy, Jun 11, 2007.

1. Hi Guys,

Lots of great info on this site!

I'm totally new to all this and just starting to look into it. I apologise if these questions have all been answered before :grin:

1. There's currently a 2 month waiting list to do the course here in Campbelltown NSW (please no Campbelltown jokes - you should visit, things have changed heaps for the better and I love it here! :) ) Does anyone know if the list is shorter at any of the other locations? Pentrith? Woolongong? I'm happy to drive. Also, weekends are bad for me - do they ever run the course midweek?

2. I'm your average 6'1" 95KG kind of guy. I'm pretty open minded on what bike to get, given an upper limit of $3K what used bikes would you suggest? I am a bit mechanically minded to I can probably keep something a bit older going. Reliability is probably important for a new rider though. So, suggestions? or know of anything for sale that would suit?

3. I'm 27 with a good driving record - what should I expect $$$s wise to keep a bike on the read every 12 months? Insurance? 3rd party only? CTP? Services?

Thanks guys, keen to hear any other random tips that have helped you out!

Also keen to meet people - look forward to getting together for a ride sometime!

Appreciate your input...

2. Fozz -

All that other stuff is a bit hard for me to say being in S.A, but bike-wise, try to find a bargain Suzuki GS500. Good solid bike, a bit bigger than your average stuff, good size to suit someone your (our) size, does pretty much everything well.

Enjoy!

O.B