Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Practicing on my CBR250RR

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Mofo2007, Jun 6, 2007.

1. Hi all
    Just got my bike tonight and took it for a spin for an hour around the neighbourhood. Ive had my L's for roughly a month and this is the first time Ive ridden since then.
    Ive been driving manual sports cars for many years now and Im just trying to get the hang of a bike.

Question 1: When your riding in 1st gear and about to change to second gear, you pull on the clutch lever and change to 2nd gear, do you let go of the throttle or ease down but still reving a little bit as you slowly find ur friction point?
    Im still trying to get the hang of matching revs as you shift. I find that when Im doing it, it sounds like its overreving and that.
    Need some tips

Question 2:How can you tell if your low on petrol. I only just noticed that theres no fuel gauge :shock:
  2. hmmm... thinking about gear changes, that's something i haven't done in a long time :LOL: manual sports cars and motorcycles are two very different things.

I'll roll off the throttle a little bit as I pull in the clutch, change gears and let the clutch out while giving it a bit more revs if i want to accelerate, or no more as i've already matched the revs for the next gear by rolling off slightly; all in one nice smooth action. It's something you'll get with more saddle time