Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Power question

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by CZ650, Aug 4, 2010.

1. Hey all,

Been lurking around here for ages, not a total noob,

But I have a question for once. I’ve stopped riding a few months ago due to a career change I’d made, had to sell the bike and I was pretty disappointed with that because you couldn’t peel me off it. The missus says I have to get a new one because I’m not the same without it, and it’s just one of those few things that keep’s me sane. No petrol, grease, bikes or cars drives me a little mad after a bit...

I’ve test rode a heap in the meantime to find a better bike (still on restrictions till Dec) and to give myself a feel for a more powerful bike. I’ve been trying to match them up specification wise (not taking into account how the power is delivered by different engines). I’m really keen on an SV650S, but obviously I can’t ride that for a bit. Now I probably can answer the question myself logically because it’s not a hard one, but I thought I’d see what others think about my situation, either wait till December and get the SV with rusty riding skills or buy something like a GS500 now and risk the remote chance of becoming bored of it but have the skills up (after the ordeal of offloading a 250, don’t want to go there again, I want a keeper)?