Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Post-Newb, Pre-Intermediate Learning

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by slygrog, May 11, 2012.

1. Hello,

You may remember me as the girl whose first motorbike exploded at practice. Or the writer of endless and extremely neurotic first-timer questions. Well.. I AM BACK!

It strikes me that while I have a workable knowledge of basic bike skills, I am not yet a bad ass and I must actively chart my path to expertise rather than just being happy with basic competence.

Some learning sphere must exist between absolute newb and track day intermediate. So here's my progress thread for navigating that sphere!

On the agenda first up:

Filtering. I've just started doing a bit of this because I ride between the city and Campsie, and Frederick Street alone can be a 30-minute bumper-to-bumper nightmare.. But it has this huge shoulder (both directions) that CAN turn it into a 5-minute caper. I saw a filtering thread here, where people talked about the when's and why's, so I know there are opinions, I just have to form my own. I tend to think stationary traffic is a good bet for filtering, and I am not sure how I feel about slowly moving traffic. It seems like a bad idea, but then I see all these folks gliding casually past me on their bikes and wonder.

My bad habits. Too much clutch-riding, not enough indicating. Also, my friction point was moved recently so I keep accelerating too early during gear changes. It sounds horrible.

THROTTLE BLIPPING. What even is this, I just can't do it! But I yearn for the day when my down changes don't drag on.

That'll do for now. But hey, if you know what comes after total newbing and before intermediateness, please let me know.
  2. welcome back !! :)