Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Post Break-In...Now what?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by OldSport, Nov 20, 2013.

1. Just got my bike back from the 1000km service.

Can I ride my motorcycle up to 10k-12k rpms now and such?

If not, what is the recommended/safe rpms when I shift my gears?

Thank you for any info, I'm a real noob with bikes as it is my first serious motorcycle.
  2. Full throttle buddy, have fun
  3. Usually while a motor is new and tight, keeping it lightly loaded is more important than what specific maximum rpm's you run to. Use your gearbox, select the appropriate gear for the desired road speed and load (hills) to keep the forward momentum and rpm's reasonable ensuring that you do not allow the engine to labour ..

A 'general' rule of thumb is that an engine will be nicely settled, 'run in', able to sustain higher rpm use and delivering all its available power by about 3500-5000km. By then the gearbox should be freeing up nicely as well, with gear changes becoming smoother or less 'notchy' than when it was new.

The owners manual is where you 'should' find that info.
    If you didn't get one, they can be downloaded from the kawasaki australia website (free) What little info is in it, is on pg 63

4. Ride it like you hate it, it'll pay dividends in the long run.
    Bike engines live to rev.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Ride it like its a loan bike from Peter Stevens. :D :rofl:
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. i dont think babying a new engine is good, but dont thrash the shits out of it while its cold.

run it until its well an truly warmed up....then give it some stick
  7. You could've gone to 12,000 after 50kms if you want. Bike will run fine
  8. Ride it like you stole it.