Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Poor beginner needs bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by skeeo, May 29, 2006.

1. Hi there, i've been reading this forums a fair bit lately and its been very helpful so far. I'm quite new to the world of motorcycling and was wondering if people could give me some advice.

I've just got my l's and am looking for the cheapest reliable bike (if thats possible). A few people have recommended me the CT 110 posties bike. Looking at a few websites, i could probably pick a decent one up for around 1000-1500. I really don't want to spend more than 1500, nor do I want a 50cc scooter.

I have set aside 1000 on protective gear.

Does anyone have any experience with the ct 110, or have any other recommendations of cheap bikes?

It will be for inner city use, something like 10 min trip each day, in and out.

2. My first stack was on one! Go for it. You will be passed by scooters tho................. From memory 85kmh flat out.
  3. See if you can find an old, cheap cb250 instead. They're still pretty slow but not as impractical as a ct110.

They're also dead simple to maintain.

The ct110's are as close as you can get to a scooter without actually being a scooter. Not that that's a bad thing, but if you're doing any highway riding or cruising you'll be SOL.

The trouble with 250s is that restrictions means that most of them are overpriced, thrashed, or both.
  4. Welcome to the forum, skeeo, and to motorcyling.
    I would have to agree with the above advice; a CB-250 would teach you a lot as a learner, and if you pick up a cheapie, but road-worthy, you can throw it away when you've finished with no regrets...