Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Point to point cameras on the Hume

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Climbatize, Apr 5, 2008.

1. This is regarding the point to point speed cameras on the hume hwy, Vic.

I don't want to alert the fault so much so that it get fixed but i figure if anyone should know about it, its motorcyclists and truck drivers.

I drive a truck for a living and noticed a few months ago a semi trailer veer into the emergency lane after he over took me... doing between 105-110 on the craigieburn bypass part of the hume... i havn't had the chance to slow down enough to see if the emergency lane has been cut up.. and he pulled into the servo i was delivering to on night shift but didn't have a chance to ask him.... anyone have any ideas about this?

I think they are front facing cameras come to think of it...
  2. The cameras on the Cragieburn bypass are front facing. The three on the Hume have both front and rear facing cameras.
    The inductor loops are cut all the way across the road - I haven't noticed any damage... :?:

Anyone know what they're doing at the Wallan rest area? I'm guessing building new service stations.
  3. I think they used to avoid the cameras by going in the emergency lane
    but I noticed now there are detector loops in the emergency lane
    too... :cool: I noticed this while I was doing 20km/h in the emergency
    lane on a flat tyre :cry:
  4. 100% correct.

As for the OP, just goes to show how silly some people are. The sensor loops are also in the Emergency lane.
  5. Excellent! I've only ever had to come off the hwy once ito get fuel in Wallan, but I'll be happier to spend even less time there :p

It was almost better living in Seymour, as you'd pass the Mobil heading south.