Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Please help! What motorbike for a new rider?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by adiacyrus, Jan 23, 2009.

1. Hi guys, this is my first topic so I hope that I choosed the good part of the forum for that...

I'm new in Australia (Brisbane) and I hold an open and unrestricted motorbike licence that I obtained in France like 10 years ago... however, i've not been riding for pretty much 9...

I'm actually considering to buy a $5,000 to $7,000 motorbike, but I have no idea about the one that could suits me best; that's why I need the help and unvaluable advices of confirmed bikers ;-)

I've been looking around Brisbane through different types of bikes and engines and I found stuff like a Triumph TT, VFR 800, Z750, VTR 1000 or yamaha FZ6N... but nothing that really excited me... i'm more into a sport one or one such as the FZ6N...

If anyone has a recommendation, that would be really very helpful and much appreciated!

2. This but in blue.

Do you have friends who have bikes who would let you have a go, how long as it been since you rode? are you still capable? maybe something mid sized would be best to get back into it without killing yourself.

CBR 600F 's are popular with people who want sporty looks and feel but more practical then a RR.
  3. A Suzuki SV650S or GSX650F might be worth a look.

Would help to know what you plan on using the bike mostly for - ie is it for commuting to work, fast riding through the hills/on a track, dirt roads, touring, etc.