Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Please Help: Slipping off seat

Discussion in 'Scooters' at netrider.net.au started by MangaGal, May 6, 2009.

1. Hi guys
    I'm new to scooter - still a Learner.
    I'm in Canberra, so winter riding is unavoidable. So I bought myself a Dri-rider winter pants for riding. Today is the first day I wear the pants and I almost slipped off the seat! I didn't realise the nylon material is so slippery against my seat. I'm not the tallest person in the world, so I normally sit close to the edge. When I put my leg out to stop, I was taken by surprise how slippery the pants was against the seat and almost fell off. :oops:

Anyone can recommend what I should do? I thought of either find a seat cover for it or put some surfing wax on the seat.

Thanks. :)

PS. I've got a SYM VS125.

2. I had some pants like that, I chucked 'em out b/c I couldn't find a cure.

Maybe you can take them back and try some other waterproofs?

3. Well, I like the pants I have bcos it's really warm... :oops:

4. Um, chewy on ya bum then? Dunno, sorry.

5. That's an idea... :grin:
    My local dealer said I might be able to add a layer of non-slip material on the seat but I thought I'll ask the question here anyway in case someone has found a quick fix. :)

6. cover it with 'Tank Grip' material imho.
    ;)

7. Odd, I have DriRider pants and a VS125 and have not noticed any slippage. Are you cleaning tyhe seat cover with Armorall or similar? These products do make vinyl (and leather) surfaces slippery.

8. there is a product i saw the other day, cant remember the name of it, but basically you attach it to your seat somehow. its a grippy matting material, looks kinda like flyscreen in the sense its crosshatched with gaps in between, but thicker.