Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Please help...finding cheap maintenance bike for short guy

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by squallsiege, Sep 27, 2007.

1. Hi,

I'm 22 years old male and I would like to find a motorbike. I have zero knowledge about motorbike but I already got a licence. I'm planning to use them about 2 or 3 years, maybe more. I have three question that would require help from you guys.

1. What type of bike is suitable for me from those criteria below?
    -I'm interested in road motorbike with fairings (sport) and I dont like scooter
    -I'm a type of people who don't prefer to speed
    -I would like to find 125cc to 250cc (my budget is around AUD$3500-4000)
    -I'm prefer motorbike with low maintenance and service cost (so, I thought 4 stroke with 1 cylinder or 2 cylinder as they have lesser service cost)
    -economical fuel
    -can be used in freeways (100 km/h) but most of the time I will traveling in suburb
    -btw, I'm a small person (163 cm, 60 kg) and I prefer to travel alone

I have done some research and I think that most suitable for me probably is Honda CBR125r but will it maintain 100km/h in freeway (travelling alone)? Are there any other suggestions?

2. Is it possible if I can made maintenance and services by myself? I'm very technical person and I determined to learn mechanics of motorbike. What books or website (with picture) should be recommended to learn from?

3. About storage behind a motorbike, a bag one, is it lockable? can people just leave the bag behind their motorbike?

Sry for the long questions. I hope you guys will help me. Thank you very very much for your reply. ^_^

2. welcome to NR