Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pitted fork

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by bazz, Nov 10, 2014.

1. Hi everyone,
    This is my first net rider entry. Thanks in advance its a long one.
    I started riding around the 1st September 2014. I'm still on my L's. I ride a 2009 Honda CB400. I purchased it second hand for 5300 with 12 months rego. At the time it only had 9300km on the clock. Now it has more than 14000[emoji5]

I recently took it to the mechanic for the 12000 km service, had new tires put on, spark plugs changed, oil filters, oil change and so on. That cost $1140 (ouch, two new expensive tryes n major service)
    A few weeks later I heard a winding down noise from the front brake as I bring the bike to a halt. I took it back to the mechanic and he confirmed the front disks are a little bit bent, but will be useable until the 18000km service. Fine.
    Then he noticed that the left fork suspension is leaking oil. The cause of this is that the stantion has pitts that get beneath the seal, damage it, and allow oils to leak via the pitts.
    Has anyone ever had pitted forks? What is the best and cheapest solution to this problem in your opinions?
    I've been watching YouTube clips on how to change the oil seal in a suspension fork, and suspension fork assembly/disassembly in general, and from what I can observe, while the job is straightforward, its extremely labour intensive. As I don't have a garage or tools at my disposal right now (have been travelling for the last few years for work) the reality is that I'm going to have to pay a mechanic to do this job.