Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa

Discussion in 'Tyres' started by dirtydannyd123, Dec 7, 2010.

1. Ok, I’m not that good at reviewing stuff nor am I able to describe the intricacies of tyre performance and feedback like moto journos or experienced racers could, so bear with me.

Coming of a Mich Power front, Road 2 rear combo onto the new Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa was an interesting experience. I have to think back to when my Michelin combo was new to compare apples with apples.

The only thing in favour of the Michelins that I can think of was that they appeared to turn in much faster. The bike tended to want to ‘fall’ on it’s side quicker.

The DRC’s are by no means slow. I’d use ‘controlled’ compared with ‘fast’ to describe the tip in.

On my ride last weekend I can attest to the confidence that these tyres inspired. I just had the feeling that these were not going to ever let go on a dry road. I felt confident in tipping in and nailing the throttle early on while staying leant over.

On the way home, stopped at the traffic lights waiting to turn right, I was overcome with hooniness. The lights turned green. I accelerated and as I turned sharp right I nailed the throttle and felt the front come off the ground, mid corner while I was leant over. Keeping the throttle nailed, I straightened up and continued with the front wheel lofted approximately 1 foot off the ground until I hit the rev limiter. My point is that even while leant over, the back didn’t struggle for traction at all. Instead it lifted the front wheel.