Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pillion Passengers - Industrial Design Major Work

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by robmaca, Apr 6, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone,

I've been following this website for quite some time now and finally signed up yesterday which is exciting! I currently ride a 2008 Z750 and loving it!

I'm currently studying my final year of Industrial Design at UTS (Sydney) where we have to complete a major work and design a product. I have decided to focus on an area which seems to be a 'grey' area of motorcycles in comparison to the rest - pillions.

I was wondering if any of you could be able to give me your opinions (as a pillion) when riding on sports / naked styled motorcycles, issue you come across when riding, helpfulness of previous experience etc.

Any issues or opinions as a pillion (especially on sports styled motorcycles) would be great and much appreciated. I'll be happy to inform you about my progress as I go as I would love to be able to help the industry I have been involved in since I was a kid!

Thanks

Rob

2. What sort of issues do you mean,
    I am a rider and a pillion,

3. Well I'm primarily focusing on the pillion so I guess I'm looking at issues you experience when on the back of the bike. Such as following the rider's body around corners or comfort on the seat. I don't want to say too much as I want to hear the views from you.

Does that make more sense?

Thanks

4. Yep.
    I sit leaning hard up against the rider, usually with my hands on my legs,
    My pillion, sits hard up against me, G/F has her hands in my pockets, if she goes to sleep, I know it and can keep her on the bike,