Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pillion falling off fear - how to deal with?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by brownyy, Jun 18, 2010.

1. Yo all;

I'm putting this in new riders tips because when it comes to taking 2up I have limited experience.

One of my pillions weights next to f--k all, 42kg or something, once she was trained up she's great to wizz about with, but in one occurrence, she shifted oh so slightly in a long corner (I'd taught her not to if possible) and I was convinced she'd come off. I couldn't feel her arms around me, or any of her touching me on the back or her knees on the sides of me etc. It was night also so I couldn't see her in the mirrors, I had to reach back and make sure she was still there.

Does anyone else have this fear or concern? At times it restricts me from using full power if I need it or doing certain things as I'm not confident that they are holding on. The last thing I want to do is gas it and they flick off the back like road rash girl or tipping the bike in to dodge traffic and they aren't staying on.

Any solutions? Any ideas? My first instinct is to tell them to hold on but reality is they can't concentrate 100% of the time and be expecting a wheelie at any moment (unless Chef is taking them).

Currently I have a thing with pillions;
    "If I grab your left arm and pull it around me, hand the f-on"
    "If I point to the sky, sit back and relax I won't be using any throttle or sudden movements".

Usually this is fine, and I only use that sky point thing on freeways with medium to low easy flowing traffic. However the longer stretches in traffic etc fatigues the pillion more (as the Daytona is an @rse to go pillion on IMHO) so in my mind they sit back more at traffic lights etc.