Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Pickin up Bike today

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by oohsam, Feb 25, 2008.

1. What up guys n gals.
    Im pickin up my bike today. Its a little overcast. Have to ride it from Heidelberg to Berwick....If it rains im not going to get it but I was thinkin of comin back to work (docklands) and waiting till about 7.30 till the traffic clears up a bit so I can get home safely...

Anyone able to offer any last minute advice that I may have missed...Its my first time on the actual roads and as usual a little 'scared' lol.

I've been reading every post in here for the last week and I think Im pretty prepared but doing the deal and reading about it is very different.

2. welcome and congrats.... just be careful of new tyres and very slippery in the wet....apart from that stay relaxed and enjoy your first ride :)
  3. Just relax, it's OK if you stall, don't panic, be smooth and oh yeah relax.

Welcome to the road :grin:
  4. and you don't need to impress the dealer as you take the bike out. Ask them to take it out on the road for you. Then spend 5 min thinking about riding it away and slowly ride away.. You can't imagine how many riders dropped the bike right there, in front of the dealer..

Also, check out the bike before you take it.. Scratches dents etc.. Their young apprentice could have done something bad this morning and told no one and then your new bike has a dent, one you'll have to pay for.. So take your time and look at the bike for a while. Tell the dealer thanks and goodbye and then spend 10 min checking out your new pride!!!

Wet weather + new tyres .. :cry: :cry:

Take it easy....