Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Peter Stevens Melbourne as a scooter dealer?

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by pink, Mar 23, 2008.

1. Hi guys,

I just found a Gilera DNA on Peter Stevens BikeSales for $2490. Which is great and wonderful things because I"m a poor student like person. :grin:

However, I'm in Sydney. Can anyone let me know what Peter Stevens are like to deal with? Are they decent or crap? I've read some stuff on here about them being bad to deal with, but as I have no personal experience and don't know a lot about bikes I don't really know if they're helpful or trying to pull a fast one.

Also, are there any decent mechanics etc who wouldn't mind having a look at the bike for me? For a 180 model to be that cheap something must have happened to it, question though is whether it's mechanically sound. Also it's got very low kms, 880km to be precise, and that sounds about as fishy as John West. :?

Any help would be much appreciated, or recommendations for other bikes will be considered too. My commute is about 50-60km round trip through Sydney (Waringah Road or Mona Vale Road and the Pacific Highway) - is a 180cc enough for that kind of work?

All answers appreciated. :grin:

2. Its 180cc 2 stroke isn't it? If so then yes I'd say its definitely gutsy enough. The 90 section isn't long anyway with the rest being 60
  3. If you are a student with not a lot of money to spend I suggest looking for something in Sydney as it'll cost at least a couple of hundred dollars to freight it to you from Melbourne. And maybe a four-stroke such as an Aprilia - unless you specifically want a DNA for it's style and two-stoke performance.