Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Performance chips for motorbikes

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Michael Jackson, Jan 9, 2009.

1. Hi Everyone,

Sorry if some of this doesn't make sense or if this has already been covered elsewhere on the site, I am a newb to bikes and netrider! :p

I have been looking around the net for a new bike and I stumbled upon these powerchips for motorcycles. I know they make them for cars and there is plenty of info around the net in terms of performance, pricing etc..... However there is not a great deal about the ones for bikes:?.

I found one on eBay claiming that they can increase performance, +15bhp, (stores.ebay.co.uk/Celox-Performance) "for all petrol electronic fuel injected motorcycles" && "100% STREET LEGAL" from the UK for a grand total of $18.50AUD (Piaggio Vespa Hyosung GT 250R KTM other models etc...).

So my question is has anyone modded their bike (hyosung gt250r) with one of these? and what did it do for your bike? Did it work?

It seems awfully cheap (seeing that power chips for cars cost way, way more) and there is no info out there on the net about these or testimonials about if they work or not so seems kinda dodgy to me.:roll: :?:
  2. honestly, you would see more of a performance increase if you took a dump before getting on your bike
  3. Hahaha, I will take that into consideration before I go on rides.
  4. Of course, Why didn't I think of that.
  5. Holding it open for longer works best.
  6. Umm....

.... isn't the Hyosung GT250R carburettored?

(*googles*) Oh, wait, 2008 model is EFI apparently! Well, there you go.

No way that an off-the-shelf ECU tune would increase power by 50% on an engine already pushing out 116hp/litre.