Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Performance after first service

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Withnail, Jan 22, 2007.

1. So the R6 had its first service today, 1000km. Seems to run a bit smoother and cooler as well.

Despite my brother being a mechanic, I unfortunately did not also inherit the mechanical brain. My question is this: Why would it seem to run smoother and cooler? Given that the first service is basically just an oil/filter change and mechanical check, why would it run any different? Is it that the oil used for 0km-first service is a thicker oil designed to coat the new pistons, rings etc and more effectively float out contaminants; meaning that at the first service it is changed to a thinner oil? They put in Motul 15W50 by the way. Would a thicker oil cause warmer running? Not that it was a problem before, just that I noticed the difference (only slight mind you)

Or is it just the placebo effect of having had it serviced?

And before you ask why I didnt just call and ask my bro - its 10pm and he is in another state. Also he doesn't much care for bikes, so he is practically dead to me anyway.

2. During the run in period any minor irregularities in machined surfaces are ground down by opposing surfaces (ie piston rings on bores, shafts on bearings etc.). This generates a lot of waste material and so a thicker oil is used to help keep this in suspension and allow it to be collected in the filter (and not simply clog up oil channels). Of course this wearing in of parts requires energy - which is converted to heat. So not really that surprising that an engine runs better and cooler once it's over.