Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Passing in the same lane?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by rid3r, Mar 25, 2010.

1. Hi all,

I'm about to take my first ride in the mountains this weekend and have a question:

Since I'm a newbie, no doubt I will be going slow. Since the mountains generally have a single lane in either direction, what happens when a faster bike approaches you from behind sitting on your a$$ waiting to zoom by, do I:

1) Move over to the left of the lane (without stopping) and signal him to go (wouldn't that put me in danger since I'm too close to the edge? like leaves, gravel, etc..

2) Ignore him and keep riding at my own pace (as this is really MY lane), and let him pass me at his own accord and safety

3) Pull over and stop, and let him pass? Wouldn't this be a pain for you, and also some roads do not have enough space to pull over?

I'm abit stumped.. what do you guys and gals reckon?

2. door number 2, the worst thing you want to do when another rider approaches you is to start moving about and lane wondering... nothing pisses me off more when a rider can't decide what lane position they want.

just continue on at your own pace holding your lane position and they will get past you in due course when safe to do so.
  3. 2. Move to the left wheel track when you get onto a straight (where they can pass you safely), start slowing down gradually and with your left hand (so you still have throttle control) wave them past a few times..

Easy enough.
  4. I usually move a little to the left and motion with my right hand they can pass if they like. Often get a wave as they go past, so I must be doing the right thing.