Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Parking your bike on a hill and riding in windy conditions

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by antkleve, Jan 22, 2006.

1. Hi All,

A relative noob here, been riding for a week. Just have a couple of questions;

What is the best way to park your bike on a hill to prevent it from falling over.

Riding in windy weather. Any techniques or experience you may want to share

Looking foward to hearing some good tips.

2. I think if parking on a hill it's a good idea to park it in gear. Apart from that, I have no idea...

When riding in windy weather (and really any other time) try to keep your arms relaxed, it helps you "absorb" the wind gusts.
  3. parking on a hill, park front down in gear
    sideways it'll fall
    backways it'll fall

i think
  4. Yeah park in gear and just remember year ten physics.

As for wind (like today) the gusts can catch you unaware, I try to not take the most outside line to allow the wind to blow me a little. Try to anticipate the wind once, for example when you go behind a building or row of trees.
  5. Tailus: Why would it fall if parked backwards?
  6. Actually I'd be more inclined to park back facing down hill, that way if it gets knocked backwards the side stand isn't going to fold up. *shrugs*
  7. ^that's kinda what i was thinking, but I tried it all ways on my driveway and found it was most stable facing down the hill. Facing up the hill the front wants to roll out and fall or something like that? Someone go and check this out, you've got me thinking about my convictions now....