Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Parking fine in Sydney CBD - just outside m/c bay. Any tips?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by dc, Oct 31, 2007.

1. Hi all,
    I usually park in the m/c bay at the NE corner of Hyde Park, St Mary's st outside land registry office. [1]

Sometimes I'm not that good at getting out of bed and up there before 8am so the bay is usually full. Seems to be 2-3 bikes parked outside of the bay most days so I thought I'd risk it and put mine next to them.
    Come back at end of day and the 5 bikes outside bay have tickets, including the guy that had his back wheel touching the pole so it's like 6 cm over the line.

Any way at all I can get away without paying this?

I mean I know the signs and the law and stuff but the 3m left of the bay are unused, don't block traffic, don't block mailboxes etc. and I just think it's kinda silly to get fined for being like 1m outside the box.

Next time I think I'll try hiding the bike in the bushes somewhere in the domain...

[1] 1 of 2 m/c bays in the entire NE corner of the CBD East of George St and North of William St. Awesome. 10 spots for 20+ city blocks of businesses... anyhoo.
  2. Send your payment to PO BOX 999 Hunter Region Mail Centre.
  3. What he said ^
  4. the whole parking thing is very sad, it brought in a "crime" that didn't exist before, parking. If they wanted money, they should have taxed more, not create new "crime".
    So the whole industry + rules + inspectors are just a manufactured nuisance.. No logic...