Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Overfilled oil.

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by droy333, Feb 27, 2008.

1. So I did an oil change. Had to do the old stab a screwdriver through the oil filter to get it off.

Anyway all went well. Topped it up to the line. Changed the clutch cable while I was at it cause it was down to the last few threads.

Took it for a run this morning. All seemed good and well. It started playing up a bit when I got back and it wasn't firing properly.

Checked the oil and it was now way over filled (over the looking glass :( ).

Just wanted to know what damage I may have caused? I'm pretty sure the plugs would be EFFED now right?

2. I am no expert in motorcycle engines, but if you overfill the oil you may have created a large amount of oil pressure causing oil vapours to be pushed into the cam covers. Most engines will not release these vapours into the atmosphere due to emissions laws. This means that the vapours are feed back into you intake and could foul your plugs...

I am not 100% on this but I would clear your plugs as a start...

3. Some bikes have a weakness for blowing oil seals/gaskets and the like when overfilled. Mostly you'll just have to empty a bit, clean out your airbox if your crank case breather was pumping oil there, give your plugs a clean, and off you go.

Use a measuring jug when changing your oil. The sight glass is not to be trusted in all cases as oil gets caught up. Give it a run for a minute or two, check, then top it up if necessary.

4. its a kawasaki ZX-6R so yeah. Not too sure.