Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Over Reving

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by toe, Nov 15, 2007.

1. Hi

I just bought a 1979 XS 250 off ebay, have used it for 2 weeks now.

For some reason it just starts to over rev up to 3000 rpm's.

I only use it for work and travel maybe 3 k's max each way, so it proly just gets to normal operating temp.

Would it be a dirty carby problem or something else?

2. First thing I would check is the cable route from the bar to the carb, it could possibly caught or kinked.
  3. Wiil do but i dont think it will be that as it will do it after ive been siting at a set of lights for a minute or so.
  4. Is the throttle cable a 2 way one or does the carb rely on a spring return? I work on cars for a living, but do bikes have a idle up valve for cold mornings?
  5. Have you turned the choke off (if you have one)? Try a bit of WD-40 around the cable ends, levers, throttle, outside the carby...
  6. Sounds like you might have an air leak downstream of the carbs. Check any vacuum hoses (particularly any from the carbs to the vacuum fuel tap if it's got one), caps and plugs to make sure everything's there/intact.

On a (nearly) thirty year old bike, it's quite possible that the rubber inlet manifolds have turned into something with all the flexibility and sealing properties of fossilised elephant scrotums (scrota? scrotii?). If that's the case, replacement is the only long-term solution, although a couple of turns of plastic duct tape might effect a temporary repair.

And if you haven't already done so, change the oil and filter. It won't help the erratic idle but your camshaft will thank you. Old Jap engines like lots of clean, fresh oil.