Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Solved Over heating issue FML

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by cool jesus, Sep 10, 2016.

1. Well, talk about 11th hour defcon 4 disaster, just before a massive ride.
    Ok its a 2012 Aprilia rs4 125. Couple of weeks ago the nozzle broke of the thermostat housing, leaving me stranded.
    New housing arrived, drain any remnants of old coolant (was something called 'blue ice' for bikes). In draining the coolant I also removed the water pump housing. Put everything back, only added a real small amount of sealant around waterpump (which has a small rubber oring gasket) and the thermo housing. Also added a little on the return house (both ends) which I've never done before. Topped up coolant, this time I used red motor vehicle coolant, warmed up the bike, felt return house to see if thermostat was still working (Yes), also check for heat at waterpump end (Yes to heat). No problems or leakes after to short half hour hard runs, then tonight coming home, sitting in traffic the heat gauge sky rocketed and shot up the over heat warning ARGHHHH!
    Let the bike cool down and managed to nurse it home the next couple of K's. On the final leg again the bike started to over heat whenever I stopped for more then a few minutes. Radiator fan is working and all parts, radiator and hoses are hot.

My thoughts!
    1. Waterpump has now failed
    2. Wrong coolant
    3. Thermostat blocked
    Any ideas would met with blessings, disease healings, promisory note into the ivory gates, please, please, please anyone out there.....

2. 1 or 3, but if I had to pick then 3. Good luck mate
  3. I could just run without then yes? Coolant wouldnt be an issue...
  4. I would say yes.