Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[OT] Chasing someone for money...(long)

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Kurtis_Strange, Jan 24, 2006.

1. I'm 90% sure I'm getting fcuked around here but thought I'd get a different opinion on it...

I'm a Freelance Graphic Artist so basically move around working for various companies on short & long term contract, usually through agencies who pay me so its not normally an issue.

Occasionally I will work for someone direct and invoice them with the agreement of prompt payment, this is one of those situations...

Got a call 3 weeks ago from some guy up in Gosford who had contacted me via a website where I had put up my CV. Said he was urgently looking for someone to help out over the next 3 days, would I be interested and did I have any references. I wasn't doing anything at the time so said sure...sent him references which he checked out, we agreed on a trial basis (below rate) price for the 3 days and I went up there.

It was clearly a small outfit, smaller than he had made it out to be over the phone and I also quickly realised that his 'partner'/studio manager in the business was also his partner personaly. They never disclosed this though and from what I can tell do everything possible not to purvey this, however it was confirmed to me by one of the girls working there.

A red flag to me (why wouldn't they tell me that) but anyway the environment was professional and over the next 3 days we got the job done, and the client was happy as were they.