Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Opinions on bikes chosen good or bad

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by davnic, Jan 13, 2012.

1. Hi i would like to ask your opinion on the bikes i have short listed
    Good or bad or alternatives.

I have had plenty of riding experience in the past but have not ridden for over 25 years so it will be back basics and learning how to ride all over again.
    The plan is to keep the bike for a few years and want a bike with a more upright seating position and that im not going to hate due to lack of power in 6 months. The bike will mainly be used 90% country and 10% city riding so would need to sit comfortably on 100 kph for long stints.

1. BMW G650 GS
    The reason i chose this bike is i used to have a Yamaha tt500 that had extensive modifications for road and trail riding and it was one of my favourites. But i could be kidding myself and never take it of road like my 4wd parked in the drive.

2. Yamaha XVS650 or a Hyosung GV650 Aquila I had originally decided to dismiss the cruisers because i used to own an old Harley and thought the cruisers were just not right. I have since changed my mind after looking at some examples on the net like Akalukes XVS650.

3. Ducati 659 monster. No particular reason just really love the look of it.

3 totally different bikes i know but that's were i am at the moment and have yet to ride any but plan on going to Melbourne soon and organising some test rides. If you own any of these or can offer an opinion on them either way or suggest an alternative to look at it would be greatly appreciated.

2. Depends a lot on you, but I wouldn't rate any of those very highly if you're worried about feeling you'll have a lack of power in 6 months.