Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Opinions needed.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Matto, Sep 5, 2009.

1. Hi, newbie here looking for a bit of advice.
    First up, I'm about to hit my forties, and, I reckon I'm going thru some sort of mid-life crisis thingo. In other words, I feel the need to get back onto a bike after an absence of about 12 years.
    My dilemma though is this, I've completely lost touch with whats going on in the bike world as far as knowing what is a good bike, and what isn't.
    I would have considered myself a reasonably competent rider once, rode for about 10 years on mainly 600cc dirt bikes, but as I said, I haven't ridden anything for about 12 years. My first question is this, after a little bit of looking around, I've got my heart set on either a Ducati M900 or Triumph Speed Triple 955.Which is the better bike?
    I know it's not that simple, but, as I have a budget of around 9g's, I would be looking at a late 90's early00's model and I am mainly interested which bike would be the better option as far as maintenance and longevity is concerned. Theres no point saving 4 grand on an older model if it's gonna cost me an arm and leg in maintenance!
    Secondly, do you reckon I've got some sort of death wish jumping straight onto one of these having not ridden for so long? I'm sort of assuming it would a bit like riding a bike
    :roll: , in that you don't forget. If so, should I be looking at something smaller?
    Main reason I'm asking, I am a big bastard,6'2" 110kgs, and I'm really looking for something long term, in other words, I wouldn't want to buying another bike in the near future.